Personal injury rights of personal injury laws as they are commonly referred to, covers the scenario when a person’s body, mind or emotions are hurt usually due to someone else’s carelessness or negligence. Some of the cases which come under this umbrella include car accidents caused by drunk drivers, medical complications caused by some matter of carelessness on the part of the physician or doctor and dog bites that may occur when such untamed animals are allowed to roam free unchecked. Under the Connecticut injury law, the following rights and claims are offered the defendant:
· Time Constraints:
Every state in the US has its own agenda when it comes to the deadline of filling a lawsuit. In case of Connecticut, the time limit is two years starting from the day you sustained the injury. This deadline is important because if, for any reason, you fail to claim your lawsuit within the time constraint, the personal injury rights in Connecticut do not apply to you.
· Comparative Fault:
Connecticut is one of those states which use a “Comparative fault rule” when it comes judging personal injury lawsuits. If it is found the by the law that you are partially responsible for the injury in any matter, then part of the amount you were to gain from the accused will be stripped down to a certain percentage. Like if you are going a little over the limit through an interchange and a car hits you running a red then you are blamed around 10% for causing the accident in the first place. So if you were promised a sum $1000 by the state you actually walk away with $900 because of this rule.
· Dog Bite Cases:
US states generally follow the “One Bite” rule when it comes to cases concerning dog bites and other animal assaults. Basically it means that the owner of the animal is not held accountable if the animal has bitten someone for the first time since the owner had no need to think it harmful to the society. The personal injury rights in Connecticut however, do not follow such a rule and the owner is held fully accountable for the actions of his/her pet even if it is the first time that such a situation has occurred. So it is well within your rights to file a lawsuit even if it is the first time the animal has bitten you or for that matter any other person of the society. Specifically it states “If any dog does any damage to either the body or property of any person,” [the dog owner] “shall be liable for such damage, except when such damage has been occasioned to the body or property of a person who, at the time such damage was sustained, was committing a trespass or other tort, or was teasing, tormenting or abusing such dog.”(Conn.Gen.Stat. § 22-357).
· Damage Caps:
In some states of the US, damages resulting in personal injury are subjected to capping or limitation by the state law. But the types of cases in which caps can be implemented are different for every state. Connecticut currently does not have any caps on any damages resulting in a personal injury whether they result in economic or non-economic damage.
Mentioned above are some of the many Personal Injury Rights in Connecticut by the help of which you can become more aware of your rights and allow you to better understand lawsuits and the applications of these laws whether you are the defendant or the plaintiff. Look for a suitable personal injury attorney to advice you today.